Miracle Country

Miracle CountryKendra Atleework grew up in Swall Meadows, in the Owens Valley of the Eastern Sierra Nevada, where annual rainfall averages five inches and in drought years measures closer to zero Kendra s family raised their children to thrive in this harsh landscape, forever at the mercy of wildfires, blizzard

3

Categories: environment



The Overstory

The OverstoryThe Overstory is a sweeping, impassioned work of activism and resistance that is also a stunning evocation of and paean to the natural world From the roots to the crown and back to the seeds, Richard Powers s twelfth novel unfolds in concentric rings of interlocking fables that range from anteb

4

Categories: environment


No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference

No One Is Too Small to Make a Differencen The groundbreaking speeches of Greta Thunberg, the young climate activist who has become the voice of a generation, including her historic address to the United Nations nIn August 2018 a fifteen year old Swedish girl, Greta Thunberg, decided not to go to school one day in order to protest the cli

6

Categories: environment


Unsheltered

UnshelteredThe New York Times bestselling author of Flight Behavior, The Lacuna, and The Poisonwood Bible and recipient of numerous literary awards including the National Humanities Medal, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and the Orange Prize returns with a timely novel that interweaves past and present to exp

2

Categories: environment


A Children's Bible

A Children's BiblePulitzer Prize finalist Lydia Millet s sublime new novel her first since the National Book Award long listed Sweet Lamb of Heaven follows a group of twelve eerily mature children on a forced vacation with their families at a sprawling lakeside mansion n nContemptuous of their parents, who pass their

6

Categories: environment


Ã…levangeliet

Ã…levangelietHur mycket kan man veta om en l Eller om en m nniska n levangeliet r en bok om v rldens mest g tfulla fisk En fisk som gett upphov till ett alldeles eget mysterium inom naturvetenskapen, det som kallas lfr gan En fisk som alla fr n Aristoteles till Sigmund Freud f rs kt f rst sig p , utan

3

Categories: environment


The Uninhabitable Earth: Life After Warming

The Uninhabitable Earth: Life After WarmingIt is worse, much worse, than you think If your anxiety about global warming is dominated by fears of sea level rise, you are barely scratching the surface of what terrors are possible In California, wildfires now rage year round, destroying thousands of homes Across the US, 500 year storms pum

8

Categories: environment


The End of the Ocean (Klimakvartetten, #2)

The End of the Ocean (Klimakvartetten, #2)From the author of the 1 international bestseller and Indie Next Pick The History of Bees, a captivating new standalone novel about the threat of a worldwide water shortage as seen through the eyes of a father and daughter n nIn 2019, seventy year old Signe sets out on a hazardous voyage to cross an

6

Categories: environment


Migrations

MigrationsFor readers of Station Eleven and Flight Behavior, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world s last birds and her own final chance for redemption n nA dark past An impossible journey The will to survive n nFranny Stone has always been a wanderer By followin

10

Categories: environment



Squirm

SquirmSome facts about Billy Dickens n He once saw a biker swerve across the road in order to run over a snake n Later, that motorcycle somehow ended up at the bottom of a canal n Billy isn t the type to let things go nSome facts about Billy s family n They ve lived in six different Florida towns

3

Categories: environment


Here in the Real World

Here in the Real WorldWare can t wait to spend summer off in his own world dreaming of knights in the Middle Ages and generally being left alone But then his parents sign him up for dreaded Rec camp, where he must endure Meaningful Social Interaction and whatever activities so called normal kids do n nOn his first da

9

Categories: environment



On Fire: The Case for the Green New Deal

On Fire: The Case for the Green New Deal1 international and New York Times bestselling author Naomi Klein, author of The Shock Doctrine and This Changes Everything, makes the case for a Green New Deal explaining how bold climate action can be a blueprint for a just and thriving society.For than twenty years, Naomi Klein has been the

5

Categories: environment


The World: A Brief Introduction

The World: A Brief IntroductionAn invaluable primer from Richard Haass, president of the Council on Foreign Relations, that will help anyone, expert and non expert alike, navigate our fast changing world n nToday s headlines generate questions than answers Should the United States attack North Korea and Iran or negotiate with

3

Categories: environment