Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop TalkingThe book that started the Quiet RevolutionAt least one third of the people we know are introverts They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking who innovate and create but dislike self promotion who favor working on their own over working in teams It is to introverts Rosa Parks, Chopin, Dr.


Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind100,000 years ago, at least six human species inhabited the earth Today there is just one Us Homo sapiens n nHow did our species succeed in the battle for dominance Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms How did we come to believe in gods, nations and human r


A Short History of Nearly Everything

A Short History of Nearly EverythingIn Bryson s biggest book, he confronts his greatest challenge to understand and, if possible, answer the oldest, biggest questions we have posed about the universe and ourselves Taking as territory everything from the Big Bang to the rise of civilization, Bryson seeks to understand how we got from


Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies

Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human SocietiesDiamond has written a book of remarkable scope one of the most important and readable works on the human past published in recent years n nWinner of the Pulitzer Prize and a national bestseller the global account of the rise of civilization that is also a stunning refutation of ideas of human


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

The Immortal Life of Henrietta LacksHer name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells taken without her knowledge became one of the most important tools in medicine The first immortal human cells grown in culture, they


The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business

The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and BusinessA young woman walks into a laboratory Over the past two years, she has transformed almost every aspect of her life She has quit smoking, run a marathon, and been promoted at work The patterns inside her brain, neurologists discover, have fundamentally changed n nMarketers at Procter Gamble study


A People's History of the United States

A People's History of the United StatesLibrary Journal calls Howard Zinn s iconic A People s History of the United States a brilliant and moving history of the American people from the point of view of those whose plight has been largely omitted from most histories Packed with vivid details and telling quotations, Zinn s award winning


Man's Search for Meaning

Man's Search for MeaningPsychiatrist Viktor Frankl s memoir has riveted generations of readers with its descriptions of life in Nazi death camps and its lessons for spiritual survival Based on his own experience and the stories of his patients, Frankl argues that we cannot avoid suffering but we can choose how to cope wit


Outliers: The Story of Success

Outliers: The Story of SuccessIn this stunning new book, Malcolm Gladwell takes us on an intellectual journey through the world of outliers the best and the brightest, the most famous and the most successful He asks the question what makes high achievers different n nHis answer is that we pay too much attention to what succe


Between the World and Me

Between the World and MeThis is your country, this is your world, this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta Nehisi Coates offers a powerfu



When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes AirFor readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living n nAt the age of thirty six, on the verge of completing a


The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference

The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big DifferenceAn alternate cover edition exists here n nThe tipping point is that magic moment when an idea, trend, or social behavior crosses a threshold, tips, and spreads like wildfire Just as a single sick person can start an epidemic of the flu, so too can a small but precisely targeted push cause a fashion